AAEM Announces 2014 Board of Directors

By: PRLog
At the 20th Annual Scientific Assembly, held February 11th-15th, 2014, in New York, NY, the voting membership of the Academy elected the 2014 board of directors.
PRLog - Feb. 21, 2014 - MILWAUKEE -- The American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) announces the 2014 election results for the AAEM board of directors.

The American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) announces that Mark Reiter, MD MBA FAAEM, was elected as president; Kevin Rodgers, MD FAAEM, was elected as vice president; Joel Schofer, MD RDMS FAAEM, was elected as secretary-treasurer. They will serve for two-year terms on the board.

John B. Christensen, MD FAAEM; David Lawhorn, MD FAAEM; and Andrew P. Mayer, MD FAAEM, were elected to two-year terms as at-large board members, and Michael Ybarra, MD FAAEM, was elected to serve as the Young Physicians Section (YPS) director. The YPS director position is a one-year term.

Dr. Reiter is a Residency Director at Middle Tennessee Emergency Physicians and the University of Tennessee in Nashville, TN. Dr. Rodgers is the Co-Program Director of the Emergency Medicine Residency Program (Categorical and Combined Emergency Medicine-Pediatrics) and a Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine at Indiana University in Indianapolis, IN. Dr. Schofer is a Commander in the Medical Corps, U.S. Navy, in Portsmouth, VA. Dr. Christensen is an emergency physician at CHW/Dominican Hospital in Santa Cruz, CA. Dr. Lawhorn is a Staff Physician, Business Director at Sumner Regional Medical Center Emergency Department, Gallatin, TN, and serves as a Clinical Faculty Position for the Department of Emergency Medicine at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. Dr. Mayer is a staff physician at West Jefferson Medical Center in Marrero, LA.

The AAEM board of directors also includes:

Immediate Past President
William T. Durkin, Jr., MD MBA FAAEM — 2016

At-Large Board Members:
Kevin Beier, MD FAAEM — 2015
Mark Foppe, DO FAAEM — 2015
Robert Suter, DO MHA FAAEM — 2015
Andy Walker, MD FAAEM — 2015
Leslie Zun, MD MBA FAAEM — 2015

AAEM/RSA President
Meaghan Mercer, DO

Editor, JEM — Ex-Officio Board Member
Stephen R. Hayden, MD


The American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) is the specialty society in emergency medicine today. As an organization, AAEM believes achievement of board certification represents the only acceptable method of attaining recognition as a specialist in emergency medicine. For more information about AAEM, our mission and programs, please visit please visit www.aaem.org or call 800-884-2236. Connect with AAEM, www.aaem.org/connect.

Read Full Story - AAEM Announces 2014 Board of Directors | More news from this source

Press release distribution by PRLog

Data & News supplied by www.cloudquote.io
Stock quotes supplied by Barchart
Quotes delayed at least 20 minutes.
By accessing this page, you agree to the following
Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.